Belgium bans travel to several areas in Europe, including Mayenne


This Saturday banned “non-essential trips” to the Spanish regions of Navarre, Aragon, Barcelona and Lérida in Catalonia, the Lake Geneva region in Switzerland (Vaud, Valais, Geneva) and the French department of, due to the strong circulation of in these territories.

The Belgian Foreign Ministry has also included on this “red” list the Bulgarian regions of Severoiztochen and Yugozapaden, several areas of Romania (center, south-east, South-Muntenia and South-west Oltenia), as well as the city of Leicester. (United Kingdom).

Quarantine and screening are compulsory for travelers from these areas returning to Belgium.

From Saturday, any person returning to Belgium from abroad or who wishes to stay more than 48 hours in Belgium must complete an identification form, providing their contact details and the places where they have stayed during the last 14 days.

Quarantine and “recommended” screenings

Quarantine and screening are “recommended” for a certain number of areas appearing on an “orange” list, which includes in particular for France the Paris region (except the department of Seine-et-Marne), the Pays de la Loire, the Nord department, Haut-Rhin, Haute-Savoie, Meurthe-et-Moselle and Vosges.

These lists are established on the basis of the evaluation of an expert unit, the Celeval.

Faced with a rebound in the coronavirus, particularly in the Antwerp region, Belgium this week put new restrictions in place, reducing authorized contacts, gatherings and extending the wearing of masks. A curfew has been declared from 11:30 p.m. to 6 a.m. in Antwerp.

The country had on Saturday 68,751 cases recorded since the start of the pandemic and 9,841 deaths.

Belgium is one of the countries with the highest number of deaths from Covid-19 compared to its population, with 85 deaths per 100,000 inhabitants.

(With AFP)

Find this article on

Read also


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here