Foot – BEL – The Belgian Cup for Royal Antwerp


Winner of the Belgian Cup final (1-0), Royal Antwerp deprives FC Bruges of the double. Royal Antwerp won the Belgian Cup by dominating FC Bruges (1-0), thanks to a goal by the Israeli Lior Refaleov (24th), this Saturday evening at the King Baudouin stadium, behind closed doors. Winner of the trophy when he was a player with … FC Bruges (2007) then Lokeren (2012), the Croatian technician Ivan Leko, who has just succeeded Laszlo Bölöni on the Antwerp bench, wins the Belgian Cup for the first time as a coach. Royal Antwerp, which qualifies for the Europa League, deprives FC Bruges, crowned champion of Belgium after the definitive interruption of the Jupiler Pro League on May 15 due to coronavirus, a 3rd Belgian Championship-Cup double (after 1977 and 1996). Royal Antwerp’s last Belgian Cup victory dates back to 1992. At the time, it marked the start of an epic in the Cup Winners’ Cup where the Belgians failed in the final against Parma (1-3) at Wembley.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here