Edson Barboza ends fast, wins again and declares: “I want to be champion” – 10/10/2020


In his second presentation as a featherweight (66 kg) in the UFC, Brazilian Edson Barboza defeated Makwan Amirkhani without any problems by printing a wide advantage over the 15 minutes played. With the result, the Brazilian broke an undesirable sequence.

Without winning since December 2018, Edson accumulated three consecutive defeats in the event, including his debut in the new weight category. This time, however, the fighter left no room for the judges and, with a triumph via unanimous decision, ended the fast, and has already sent the message to everyone in the division.

“I want to be a champion. I am here to be a champion,” he declared, still in the octagon when recording his number 21 victories in the sport, in a cartel that still has nine defeats.

The fight

Fighting more cadence than usual, Edson used his low kicks only punctually and was concerned with dominating the center of the octagon. With a disadvantage in the exchange of strikes while standing and realizing that the defeat in the papers in the first round was inevitable, Amirkhani started to try to fall, having success only in the last seconds of the initial stage. Edson Barboza 10 x 9 Makwan Amirkhani.

In the second round, the Brazilian started to attack with hooks on the body of the Iranian, who was too concerned with the blows and opened the way for two right-wingers to hit his chin and lead him to knockdowns at different times. In the sequence, Edson tried to choke, which were well defended by the opponent. Edson Barboza 20 x 17 Makwan Amirkhani.

Aware of the disadvantage, the Iranian started upwards from the start of the final assault and landed a takedown. After being on top for much of the round, Amirkhani ended the stage suffering with a sequence of punches from the Brazilian, who ‘stole’ the partial advantage and opened wide advantage in the cards. Edson Barboza 30 x 26 Makwan Amirkhani.

Check out the results of ‘UFC Fight Island 5’:

Edson barboza defeated Makwan Amirkhani by unanimous decision;
Marcin Tybura defeated Ben Rothwell by unanimous decision;
Dricus du Plessis nocauteou Markus ‘Maluko’ no 1º round;
Tom Aspinall knocked out Alan Baudot in the first round;
llia Topuria defeated Youssef Zalal by unanimous decision;
Tom Breese knocked out KB Bhullar in the first round;
Chris Daukaus knocked out Rodrigo ‘Zé Colmeia’ no 1º round;
Joaquin Buckley knocked out Impa Kasanganay in the 2nd round;
Tony Kelley defeated Ali AlQaisi by unanimous decision;
Giga Chikadze defeated Omar Morales by unanimous decision;
Tracy Cortez defeated Stephanie Egger via unanimous decision;
Tagir Ulanbekov won Bruno ‘Bulldoguinho’ by unanimous decision.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here