As of May 15, WhatsApp will again change the functionality of its platform making it more limited and, in the case of users who do not accept the new usage policy, they will no longer be able to send or read messages and, only for a short period of time, will be able to receive calls and notifications.
According to information provided by The Verge, upon accepting the new policy, WhatsApp is allowed to share some user data with Facebook, which has created discord among users since the beginning of the year. However, messages exchanged on the platform are encrypted and in this way, only the recipients have access to the content.
According to what is already possible to ascertain and according to Facebook itself, the new policy aims solely and exclusively that users can send messages companies and businesses more easily and, only these can be stored on Facebook servers. Thus, there is no interference with personal conversations. This storage can, however, be used for advertising purposes.
In response to the controversies that have been taking place, WhatsApp delayed the introduction of this new policy, since it was to take effect on February 8. The messaging service that belongs to Facebook says that it will not delete any account that has not approved the new terms on the scheduled date and that users still have the opportunity to accept it some time later. Still, they warn of the fact that exclude, as a rule, accounts that are inactive for 120 days.
Nothing comes between you and your privacy. Messaging with a business is optional, and their chats are clearly labeled on the app. You are in control.
For more information, please read: https://t.co/55r1Qxv2Wi pic.twitter.com/HswXxRylHo
– WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) February 18, 2021