WhatsApp returns to the load to implement the new privacy policies, even after the large number of complaints recently submitted by users.
May 15th is the date chosen by WhatsApp (which is owned by Facebook) for the entry into force of these privacy policies. As of this day, those who have not accepted the new policies will see their functions restricted, but the accounts will not be automatically deleted.
Thus, from May 15, WhatsApp will show users a message when they open the application, in which they will be asked to accept the updated terms and conditions.
What happens if you do not accept the terms and conditions?
As WhatsApp writes on its official page, those who do not accept the new terms and conditions on May 15th will not be able to enjoy all the features of the application.
“If you have not accepted the terms and conditions by that time, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have access to all WhatsApp features until you accept them. For a brief period, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the application ”, explains the company.
WhatsApp also states that it is possible to accept the updated terms and conditions even after May 15 and informs users that its policy on inactive accounts will also apply.
Inactive WhatsApp accounts
WhatsApp itself writes on its website that “in general, accounts that have been inactive for more than 120 days will be deleted in order to maintain security, limit data retention and protect users’ privacy”.
The company also considers that an account is inactive “when the user does not log in to WhatsApp”.
Those who choose not to accept the updated WhatsApp terms and conditions can choose to let their account ‘die’ or follow the app’s steps to delete it.